Cleaning Schedule

Manic Monday Blog Series

For today’s Manic Monday I thought that I would share with you my cleaning schedule. Now, some of you may be wondering why it’s necessary to have a cleaning schedule for your home. In essence, it’s not. But I have found that it gives me a little piece of mind and I’m more productive. When I don’t use this schedule, I tend to save a majority of my housework for the weekends. This was especially true when I worked outside the home but even so with me staying at home. Between my kids’ appointments, my meetings for the spouses’ club, my blog and boutique, and whatever else life throws my way, housework would always get pushed back. Then I spent my entire weekends cleaning and doing laundry instead of spending it with my family.

As always, the idea for a cleaning schedule came to me through Pinterest. Here’s a few examples I used when making my own schedule.

Cleaning Schedule

Cleaning Schedule from the Time Warp Wife

This was the first example I found from the Time Warp Wife. She has a lot of good ideas and tips so I would highly suggest checking her out.

Cleaning Schedule

Cleaning Schedule from Tips and Pix

Here’s the second example I used. The article for this one is extremely in-depth and does a great job explaining how this system works. You can check it out here.

From here I started working on my own schedule. I didn’t want to designate one day just for dusting or doing the floors, so I did my days by rooms. I have found that when the kids actually pick up after themselves, and I stick to my 15 minute tidy up routine that I don’t have a lot of cleaning to do. For example, I have a living room downstairs and a living room/dining room combo upstairs. Once everything is picked up, all I really have to do is dust the furniture and clean the floors. I can get all 3 rooms done in about 30 minutes. So here is my current cleaning schedule.

Cleaning Schedule

I start my week with my kids’ speech therapy appointments so I made Monday my errand day. I figured it would be easier to do it then since we were already loaded up and in town. On the days that I clean the bedrooms and bathrooms I will do the sheets and towels for my load of laundry for the day.

The real challenge for me is keeping up with my daily chores. If I miss a load of dishes or laundry, the house will start piling up on itself. Once I see that starting to happen, I usually retreat to YouTube or movies for a few days. Not the best option since that let’s the mess compile even more, but just keeping it real for you.

I hope this gives you a few ideas on how to manage your time and housework a little more efficiently. If you have a schedule that you use or different tips to help with the never-ending laundry and dishes, I would love to hear from you!! And I hope you come back tomorrow for another Tasty Tuesday!!

One thought on “Cleaning Schedule

  1. Pingback: Financial Peace University | Style Strollers & Sweet Tea

Leave a Reply

