Chicken and Dumplings

Savory Saturdays Blog Series

It has been a very long time since I’ve been able to share a new recipe with you. I’ve either been entirely too busy to cook, or I’ve been plain ole uninspired. I’m not sure why I have such a love/hate relationship with my kitchen right now, but I’m going to try to force myself to overcome it. We shall see how this one goes over! The other night I decided to whip up a small pot of chicken and dumplings. You see, not only am I trying to force myself to cook more, but I’m trying to cook more from scratch as well. It tastes better and quite frankly, it’s a lot cheaper. (Oh by the way, I have to give a shout out to my friend for my new Blog Series logos!! They’re perfect! You should definitely go check her out at Simple Kara!)

Easy Chicken and Dumplings

A lot of the different recipes I have on hand called for canned biscuits for the dumplings. While I’ve had that before and enjoyed it, I don’t always keep canned biscuits on hand. I do however always have baking supplies for breads, cakes, cookies, etc. So I finally took bits and pieces from about 3-4 different recipes and made it work for what I was looking for.

Easiest Way to Shred Chicken

Another kitchen tip that I live by is prepping extra meat for the next few nights. I got this 3 lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts at Kroger. It was on sale for $5.99 and I had a $2 off coupon. Talk about a good deal! I like to boil the entire bag of chicken breasts and then throw them in my food processor to shred them up. You can also use a stand mixer with a hook attachment if you have that. I went a little crazy the other night and shred my chicken up a little too much. But it’ll still work in my casseroles.

Prep Chicken Ahead for Multiple Dinners

I used a few handfuls of the chicken and put the rest in Ziploc bags. I put one if the fridge to use in the next night or so, and put the rest in the freezer. These will help me on those nights when I’m tired and really struggling to get dinner on the table. I hope you give this recipe a try and I would love to hear about some of your time savers in the kitchen.
Simple Homemade Dumplings

Ingredients
2-3 chicken breasts
32 oz. chicken broth
1 10.5 oz cream of chicken soup
2 c. all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. salt
3 tbsp butter
1 c. milk
Salt and Pepper, to taste

Directions
Boil the chicken breasts in a large pot of water until fork-tender, about 35-40 minutes. Drain and shred chicken, set aside.

In another medium pot, bring the chicken broth to a low boil. Stir in cream of chicken soup and add salt and pepper to your taste. Let simmer about 5  minutes.

Meanwhile, in small saucepan bring butter and milk to a slow simmer. In small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Slowly add milk mixture to dry ingredients. Stir with fork or knead with hands until the mixture just comes together. Divide the dough into 18-20 dumplings.

Add the chicken back to the broth mixture. Gently place your dumplings on top of chicken, cover, and simmer 10-15 minutes. The dumplings are done when they are firm and a toothpick inserted inside comes out clean. Serve immediately.

One thought on “Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Pingback: French Onion Chicken Noodle Casserole | Style Strollers & Sweet Tea

Leave a Reply

