French Onion Chicken Noodle Casserole

Tasty Tuesday Blog Series

I don’t know about you, but I love easy and budget friendly casseroles. I found this particular recipe on Pinterest, of course! It comes from Plain Chicken and you can see the original recipe here. I found this recipe when I was looking for different dinners to use my leftover chicken in. As I said in my Chicken and Dumplings recipe, I love to cook a large batch of boneless, skinless chicken breasts at one time. I’ll then shred the cooked chicken in my food processor and divide it into Ziploc bags. This helps me cut down my time in the kitchen tremendously.

French Onion Chicken Noodle Casserole

This was very delicious and full of flavor, but it is a bit on the rich side. I suppose that should be expected since it has a whole jar of French Onion dip. With that said though, my son did eat two plates of this. My daughter is going through a picky phase so she only ate the French Fried Onions, which was very surprising to me. And I still have about 3/4 of the dish leftover for lunch and possibly another dinner.

French Onion Chicken Noodle Casserole

If you try this recipe or have any chicken recipes that you would like to share, I would love to hear from you in the comments below!

French Onion Chicken Noodle Casserole

Ingredients

4 c. cooked chicken, shredded
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1 16-oz. can French Onion Dip
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1 12-oz. bag egg noodles
1 c. French Fried Onions, crushed

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. Lightly grease a 9×13 inch casserole dish.

Cook egg noodles according to package directions, drain. Set aside.

In large bowl, combine shredded chicken, cream of chicken soup, French Onion dip, and shredded cheese. Once thoroughly combined, add in cooked egg noodles.

Pour noodle mixture into prepared casserole dish and top with crushed French Fried Onions.

Baked, uncovered, for 25-30 minutes, or until heated through. Let stand 5-10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

