A New Journey for a New Year

Another chapter has closed in our lives and we are bracing ourselves for the new adventures ahead in the upcoming year. My family ended 2016 with many changes around us, but perhaps the biggest change was my husband’s promotion and transfer at work. Last month, my family moved from Ohio to Charlottesville, Virginia.

Charlottesville Virginia

With this move, we’ve encountered many challenges. The first challenge was finding a tenant for our home in Ohio….in three months….during the holidays. Needless to say, this is still an ongoing challenge. This also caused another challenge in our life. Due to the financial strain of paying rent and a mortgage, we decided to downsize once we got to Virginia. This hasn’t been so much a hardship challenge because I’ve been slowly becoming more drawn to a minimalist lifestyle. However, my husband is a pack rat who apparently has an emotional attachment to everything he has ever own. And I mean EVERYTHING! It’s a slow process, but we’re getting there.

Another obstacle that we ran into was the preschool system here in Virginia. In Ohio, my youngest was going to preschool four days a week at minimal cost to us. However, the public preschools here are only for children with learning disabilities, while the private preschools cost an arm and two legs! I knew my daughter was going to be crushed. She loved being a big girl and going to school with her big brother every day. So after a lot of thinking and praying on the matter, I’ve decided to home school her. I’ll be sure to share my struggles and mishaps with that journey as we go along.

off-to-school

Possibly the biggest challenge I’ve faced personally with our move, is having to transfer my new personal training business. When I started IMT Fit Life I had the notion that we would be staying in Ohio for several more years so I was planting my roots, so to speak. I was training a few clients, working on programs for several different organizations, and making new connections daily. And then I had to walk away from it all. It was definitely disheartening to say the least.

But when one door closes, another door opens. That’s how the saying goes. We’ve closed the door to 2016 and our lives in Ohio. We have begun our new adventures here in Virginia and what a better time for new adventures than the New Year. And I’m sure I’ll have a lot more to share as we continue through these challenges and great adventures!

shenandoah-national-park

Shenandoah National Park

3 thoughts on “A New Journey for a New Year

  1. You’ll find that Charlottesville is a fitness mecca! I teach at barre.[d] studio and train at The Gym – I’d love to have you at either place for a workout! I just got my personal training certification, so I’m looking forward to getting that rolling, too.

    If you’re interested in grabbing coffee sometime, let me know!

    Like

    • Hey Sarah! I have noticed how many fitness groups are in and around Charlottesville. It’ll be interesting on how I can put my own spin into the mix. I would love to meet up with you for coffee one day once I finish getting all settled in. Who knew unpacking could take sooo long! And congrats on passing your certification. I remember you talking about it when you were getting ready to test.

      Like

  2. Wishing you luck in your new location. I was sorry to see you leave, but grateful to have had the chance to spend time with you over the years. I really appreciated how supportive you always were of me–support is very hard to come by and I am deeply grateful ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

