My One Word Challenge

I may have said this before, but I am a planner at heart. It’s one way I manage my anxiety. The more things that are scheduled out, the calmer I am. And while I am still working on some goals for 2017, I have decided to try something a little bit different. This year I’m trying the My One Word challenge. Instead of spreading my focus on too many things and too many resolutions, I’ve decided that I want to pick one word that I want this year to represent. With that being said, my word for 2017 is going to be consistent.

my-one-word-consistent

It took me a little while to finally settle on one word because I felt drawn to several: consistent, intentional, and present. I truly want to be consistently intentional and present in the moment. I’m too often distracted or spread too thin. I want to be intentional with what I do. I want to be present in every moment with my children. But most of all, I wanted to be consistent with it all.

I’ve struggled with being consistent for years. I know it’s because I usually do spread myself too thin, but that’s just me. I’m multi-passionate. I love to write for my blog. I love to cook new recipes. I love training people and helping them. But with these ventures, I need to be more consistent to make them successful.

As luck will have it, I’ve already hit my first challenge with being consistent this year. In my last post, I shared that my family had just moved to Virginia. We woke last Tuesday to a flood in our kitchen. It took a whole week for the cleanup crew to get all the water up and dried out. Then it took another week for the contractors to come in and fix everything. For those two weeks, my family was back at the hotel. It was difficult to keep up with my work and with my daughter’s preschool lessons when I was constantly driving between the hotel and our house.

flooded-basement

Water damage in the basement

 

We finally got to move back in yesterday, but we’re still not settled. The things that weren’t destroyed are still in storage and we still have contractors working on the basement. But I am trying to stay positive and chalking it up for it is. I’ve been off schedule for two weeks, and it still may be another week or two until things are back to normal completely.

With that being said, I would love to hear if anyone else has tried the My One Word challenge. Let me know how your experience was and your thoughts on the challenge itself.

Leave a Reply

