Cash Envelope System

Cash Envelope System

A few days ago I shared that my husband and I are currently taking the Financial Peace University classes at our church. Part of Dave Ramsey’s system is to start using cash for as much as you can, at least during the beginning. At first I saw it only has a major inconvenience. However, I will say that it really does make sense and it really does work. People tend to have more of an emotional connection to cash and it makes it harder to part with. It hurts! Our first time eating out using cash was a new experience for sure. After the kids and my husband figured out what they wanted, I was calculating how much I could spend for my meal and still have money to cover taxes and tip. But that wasn’t the only thing that hurt. The food was mediocre at best and the service was even worse. It REALLY hurt to hand over our hard earned cash for that. It left an impression for sure.

Grocery Cash Envelope System

Now the FPU class includes a Dave Ramsey cash envelope system, but I tend to be quite girly at times. I’ve found that I use things more often when they’re girly and pretty. I got the inspiration for this system from Mom Needs a Clone over on YouTube. I followed her instructions on how to make these really nice cash envelopes and it couldn’t have been easier. You can watch her video on that here. She also sells these envelopes in her Etsy shop for those who don’t have the time or desire to make their own. I already had most of the material on hand so I decided to make my own.

Hair Cash Envelope System

I took a dry erase marker and wrote the amount for each envelope on the back. You can use permanent marker if you like; it will wipe off with a cleaner. I chose a dry erase marker for now because I’m still working on some of the amounts. Cash Envelope System

Here’s a quick look at several of the envelopes I have. My husband thinks that I have too many options, but that’s just the type of person I am. Some people only do envelopes for the big items like groceries and eating out. I’m a type A person that likes to be overly organized. It’s one of my strengths, and weaknesses. I have all of my envelopes in my binder for now, but some will be moved to our safe later. These sinking funds will start adding up and I don’t want to carry around all of that cash. Here’s a list of my many envelopes:

Groceries
Meals Out
Date Night
Childcare
Family Night
Kids Allowance
Hair Cuts
School
Dry Cleaning
Pharmacy
Toiletries
Cosmetics
Clothing
Tags & Registration
Oil Changes
Auto Maintenance
Vacation
Birthdays
Anniversary
Holidays
Household Items
Misc

I don’t have an envelope for our blow money (or allowance) or our tithing. We keep our blow money in our wallets and I shared a few days ago that I keep our tithes in my spiritual binder.

Date Night Cash Envelopes

Have you done the cash envelope system for your family? If so, what are some of your tips and tricks that helped you stay on track and on budget??

Don’t forget to check out these similar posts!

Financial Peace University

Financial Peace University

Spiritual Binder

Spiritual Binder

6 thoughts on “Cash Envelope System

  1. Very cute and stylish! We do the zero based budget but don’t use the cash envelope system. I think it is wise though and helpful during debt repayment. Starbucks knows what they’re doing with the purchase in app system… makes consumer less aware of how much they’re spending

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked the cash envelopes. I’ve had a budget for years that I updated every month and tried to stay with. I doubt we’ll use the cash envelope system forever, but it’s a good refresher for us to really track our we spend our money instead of always mindlessly swiping a card. You’re correct that these businesses are getting very savvy with their ease of technology these days.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

